Book Review – All The Bright Places

‘You are all the colours in one, at full brightness.’

Hello everyone, and I’m back writing on All The Jazz for you all. I decided to write a book review of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven because I finally decided to read it this week and, whoa, it was amazing!

So, here’s my attempt at writing a book review. Probably won’t be like usual book reviews, and it probably won’t be very good too. But I needed to write about this book! 

May contain small spoilers!! 

So, what goes on in this book?

All The Bright Places, as it says on the front of the book, is the story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die. Violet Markey and Theodore Finch meet on top of their school’s bell tower, and from there their story begins. 

Both Violet and Finch suffered hardships in their life. Violet’s sister died in a car accident, and Finch had lost of hardships to deal with that’s given him the mindset he now has. As well as that, he sometimes goes through (what he calls) The Sleep where he falls into a deep, dreamless sleep for a long time. 

Violet losing her sister made her fall out of love with writing, and she was no longer the ‘live life to the fullest’ teenage girl she once was with her sister. Meeting Finch made her gain those parts of herself back, and made her see that life is worth living. 

As time goes on, they fall in love, and everything is sunshine and rainbows. Well for the most part. 

As it says in the blurb, as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

What did I think of it?

I went into All The Bright Places with high expectations. It’s just one of those books everyone seems to like. I’m glad to say I wasn’t disappointed. All The Bright Places was such an amazing book, I can’t put into words how much I loved it! Finch was definitely my favourite character, which is odd for me since I usually prefer the female characters. I just loved Finch’s personality, his way with words, how he saw the world. I’d love to meet a Finch in real life. 

I just love how it shows the power one person can have. One event, one moment. Anything, anyone can change your life for the better. Meeting Finch pretty much saved Violet from herself.  It was touching and eyeopening. I actually want to alter what I said earlier, everyone needs a Finch in their life, not just me! 

The only thing I would change was the beginning of the ending. I won’t say what happened, just in case anyone’s reading that wants to read it later, but the reason why I want to change isn’t because it was bad or anything, because it was good, but it was just so upsetting for me. Probably didn’t help that I got to that part when I was already feeling pretty upset, so I ended up crying….TWICE! It’s pretty rare for me to cry at sad parts in movies or books, so that obviously means Niven did a pretty good job at making me feel attached to that character. 

But the ending was beautiful…it made me cry for the third time. Darn it that book gave me major feels! I…actually…have…emotions?

Rating?

I’m gonna give All The Bright Places….drum roll please….

5/5 Stars! It deserved that and then some for me. I just loved it so much! Especially Finch, he’s definitely one of a kind. So amazingly unique, I can’t emphasise that enough. I really need to stop going on about Finch, but he’s just too awesome. 

Overall…?

Couldn’t emphasise enough how much I enjoyed that book! Touching, eye-opening, beautiful, exhilarating, emotional…all the colours in one, at full brightness, to quote the amazing Theodore Finch himself.

All The Bright Places is awesome, read it! Promise? Good. 

I hope that review wasn’t too bad of a review to read! If it wasn’t too awful, please let me know, it’ll help me decide whether I should do this more often or not. Thank you for reading! 

  –   All The Jazz 

46 thoughts on “Book Review – All The Bright Places

    1. I can pretty much conform you’ll cry at the ending, I mean it managed to break me, and I’m emotionless and told hearted when it comes to emotional stuff in books and movies! Let me know the verdict๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahhhhh this book is the book that changed my life!
    I totally agree with the things about Finch. The word needs more Finches.
    This was an awesome book review btw.
    (Also just saying they may be making a movie version of All The Bright Places… I’m like 80% sure they are)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, couldn’t agree with you more! The world would be so awesome if it was filled with Finch’s!
      And thank you so much, I was pretty nervous putting this up because it was literally my first every book review, I’m glad you enjoyed it๐Ÿ˜Š
      NO WAY REALLY? If they are I bet they’re gonna be mean and let it’s release date be like Summer 2019 or something!๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read this book, it’s brilliant!! Glad you enjoyed reading it too. Also, how did your GCSE options go?? What did you choose in the end? I made the bold decision to take two languages (probably gonna end up regretting that but ah well!) what did you choose? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr, it’s amazing! And they went pretty good, not as dramatic as I was thinking๐Ÿ˜‚We just filled it out on the sheet, handed it to our form teachers and that was that! Then again what was I expecting, a ceremony?๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyway, I decided to go with 3rd Science, RE, History and GCSE Music!
      And whoa you’re so brave to pick two languages, I can’t even handle doing one! I absolutely despise languages and I’m horrible at it too! I wish you tones of luck handing your languages…I’m assuming you’re doing French and Spanish?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I’m a bit worried myself! I could never do RE or music, I find them really hard- good luck to you too! I’m really glad that in the end you made a decision you’re happy with, and that it wasn’t as stressful and dramatic as you first thought. I’m looking forward to being in year ten so I don’t have to do the subjects I despise any more (*cough cough* PE and Drama). xxx ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you! And I can’t wait for year 10 for the same reason, Drama and PE are the worst, I can’t wait until I don’t have to do them! If only we didn’t have to do Maths for GCSE…I’d drop it in a heartbeat๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh no you have to do further maths? You’re options are literally everything I wish I could do but I can’t!๐Ÿ˜‚ I’m sure you’ll nail further maths๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed reading! I’ve heard about 13 Reasons Why turning into a Netflix series and I can’t wait! I watched the trailer and it looked pretty good, I hope it does the book justice.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely ADORED this book!!! Best I’ve read in quite some time! The only thing bad I could say is: why did it have to end?! Ahaha, it was honestly so emotional and very very beautiful. A genuine book review, I agree with everything you said! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE this book so much,I literally couldn’t put it down when I was reading it and I could actually feel my heart aching the further I got into the story.It’s so heart breaking but so well written.I loved your review,I even wrote a review of my own haha.I just love this book! http://ciaratone.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

