Book Review – The Darkest Minds

‘The Darkest Minds tend to hide behind the most unlikely faces.’

Hi everyone, and after more than a month without doing a book review, I had the opportunity to read the perfect book to write one!

Ahh, The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. I have a long history with this book. I’ve wanted to read it for two years, but for the longest time it wasn’t available in UK book stores. It was available on Amazon, but it was always way more expensive than it needed to be. And it wasn’t even available on Kindle! So I spent ages wishing for this book, for so long I kinda forgot about it, until I randomly decided to search it up two weeks ago. And it was in stock at Waterstones! The cover was different, the one above is the new cover which I prefer from the old one, so that’s the one I bought. 

Ugh, I’m rambling again. Here’s my second attempt of writing a book review, enjoy!

May contain small spoilers!

So what goes on in this book? 

Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now. 

The Darkest Minds is pretty dark, dystopian, but not like any dystopian. The story follows Ruby, who (just like many other kids) survived a mysterious disease that killed most of America’s children. And in return, the kids who survived developed frightening abilities. Ruby’s sent to Thurmond, a brutal state rehabilitation camp where kids with abilities are controlled and treated aggressively by the government, who fear them. Ruby’s learnt to suppress her new powers, but as a dramatic turn of events occurs, Ruby’s suddenly free, and thrown into the crazy and dangerous place the world is now. 

She’s introduced to new people, new prospects, the ability to live and be free again, the idea to love again. But, no dystopian is that chilled. There’s bumps along the way, the government hunting her and her newly acquired friends, the clans and alliances formed by other kids with abilities also proving dangerous, one even being the most dangerous of them all… 

Ruby’s world starts to expand, she’s free after all. But was she expecting the world she came back to? 

What did I think of it?

I really enjoyed The Darkest Minds. The beginning was a bit slow, I found myself itching for some action so I ended up skipping pages, but as soon as it got good, it got GOOD. I’ve got to say that as soon as Liam, Chubs and Zu came into the picture, and as soon as Liam’s likeable, funny personality shone through (his first words in the book was what sold me!) I immediately shipped Ruby and Liam. And I was so happy when my ship became a ship! But if anyone’s read The Darkest Minds, you’ll know the ending and what Ruby did really annoyed me. I literally shot up straight in my bed when Ruby did that! And nope, she didn’t break up with him, it was much more worse than that! Also, he didn’t die or anything, so don’t think I’m hinting at his death! 

Well, since we’re on the topic of Liam….I LOVED this character. He’s so fricking selfless it’s amazing, and I love his funny personality, his fatherly approach to little Zu. Chubs wasn’t very likeable at first, but he really grew on me.

Ruby, liked her as well. There wasn’t anything outstanding about her that I liked, although I liked her most in moments where she was interacting with Liam, Zu and Chubs later on in the books. 

As for the book itself, I loved the plotline. It built amazingly and when it reached the ‘punch’ as I like to call it, it was amazing. The Slip Boy aka Clancy Gray was…holy moly, such a character. He was involved in the biggest ‘oh gosh’ moments, and responsible for that dramatic ending. As soon as good ol’ Clancy was introduced, the book elevated. I really hope he’s in the second book (well there’s no reason why he wouldn’t be) because his cunning, ridiculously clever, kinda evil personality was AWESOME. 

*EDIT: Literally as I was proofreading the part above about Clancy, my heart-rate picked up because he’s so fricking awesome and evil and I love it! So cool. Guess who said the quote at the start of the book, yep, Clancy! Most fangirl about normal stuff like girl bands, I fangirl about evil teens with abilities in books.) 

Ok, back to the plot. I just wish the ending wasn’t…the ending! I’m not happy with it at all, it was written amazingly, but I don’t like where Ruby ended up, what she did to Liam, and everything really! I’m still mad about that, but I guess that’s good? Probably what Bracken wanted. 

Ughhh, writing this is making me desperately want the second book! Perhaps I could convince my mum to get it for me, I did buy this one myself, and it’ll get me off my phone and that’s what all parents want right?

This book has a very ‘I want to read more!!’ feeling to it. As demonstrated above unintentionally! I read this book in one day, and it’s a pretty thick book! I did nothing but read it, simply because I couldn’t put the darn thing down. Every twist, turn, ‘oooo’ moment and ‘holy poop’ moment is executed well. I wish it didn’t have that slow start! 

(And yes, you read that correctly, I said holy poop.)

Rating?

I’m going to give The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken…..drum roll please…..

4.5 / 5 Stars! 

Honestly I really, really enjoyed this book. But I just couldn’t give if 5 out of 5 because of the slow beginning to the book. It wasn’t slow right at the beginning, more like from the end of the beginning to the middle of the middle…? But the rest of the book was a definite 4.5 stars, amazing characters, amazing plot. I can’t wait to see how everything plays out if (when!) I get the second book!

Overall…?

Such an amazing, riveting, heart-thumping, exhilarating read. It’s not like any old dystopian, not like the Hunger Games, not like Divergent. So much better than the two combined! It provided a new type of dystopia, a new spin on it. And the cliffhanger ending will make anyone desperate for the second book. Characters (I can’t say this enough) were out of this world. Liam and Clancy, despite them being worlds apart when it comes to their personality, were my two favorites. 

The Darkest Minds was great, you’re missing out if you don’t give it a read. Do you really wanna miss out on the book that’s put it’s own twist on dystopia? I think not! And the fact that I’m sounding like I’m sponsored by the publishers says how much I need you all to read it!

(PS: Not sponsored lol, that’ll never happen peeps.) 

I hope you enjoyed my second ever review! I hope you enjoyed, I love writing reviews, even though my reviews aren’t the best! Has anyone else read The Darkest Minds? I feel like it isn’t as popular is it should be! Is anyone considering reading it? Let me know! Have a wonderful day. Or night. Or evening! 

  –   All The Jazz 

| TWITTER |  | BLOGLOVIN’

18 thoughts on “Book Review – The Darkest Minds

  1. I really want to read The Darkest Minds, but I’ve been waiting to get the nicer cover. Also! I found out a week or so ago that its being made into a movie (now I’ll probably wait for the movie cover). And the movie is going to star Amandla Stenberg! If you don’t know who she is, she played Rue in The Hunger Games!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know how you like it once you’ve read it! And wow really? It’s being made into a film? That’s so exciting, I hope it’s done well. And that’s awesome that the actress who plays Rue is staring in it! I wonder who she’ll playπŸ€”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

