US Schools VS UK Schools? | Collab With Madrigals and Sound!!

My first collab as All The Jazz….AHHHH!

Hey, everyone! I hope you’re excited (I certainly am) because today is the day I finally followed through and took part in a collab with another blogger! I’ve had this goal since January I think…I finally pulled through. 

So I teamed up with Caitie from Madrigals and Sound, and she’s from the US! An UK blogger + a US blogger + exam season = a collab about school…so here we are, explaining how US school life is (from Caitie) and how UK school life is (from meee). 

So let’s get into the collab, if you want to know more about US and UK schools…this is the best post for you!! 

Blog Divider

How The School Works:

US Schools: Caitie! 

My school is on trimesters. Trimesters are when there are 3 parts of the school year. Semesters (2 parts) are more common in American schools, but it only gives me 5 periods/hours and way more time to do homework in class. Each Trimester is about 12 weeks long, with 3 big breaks in between (Thanksgiving, Winter break, and Spring break). At the end of each term, we have Finals. They’re pretty much end of term exams that can really be anything depending on the teacher. The first two trimesters we have two days of finals. 2nd and 4th period on the first day and 1st, 3rd, and 5th period on the second day. During the last trimester, the second and the first-day switch, so we only have a half day for the last day before summer break. 

UK Schools: Me!

My school (well UK schools) are separated into terms. Like Autumn term 1, Autumn term 2, Spring term 1, Spring term 2, etc. Each term is 6-7 weeks long, with breaks in between (Christmas, Easter break… ). We sometimes have exams at the end of terms, but only the important bigger ones like before Christmas break and before Summer break.

In school, we have 5 periods/lessons each day. Two periods, break, two periods, lunch, one period, home. Nothing much to it! But my school does something I think only my school does…? Every Friday, we go in later. So instead of having to be in by 8:30 am, we have to be in by 9:30 am. So we miss period one every Friday. Hurray for lie-in’s every Friday!! This was all about Secondary School by the way (12-16-year-olds), I almost forgot to mention primary school! Nothing much to report there, the terms are the same, but minus the exams. However in year 6 (the year before going into secondary school) you do exams called SAT’s, they basically tell the secondary school you’re going to your abilities, and what sets you should be put in. It also determines how well primary teachers teach, if the majority did well, those teachers are doing well.  

What The School Is Like:

US Schools: Caitie!

There are good and bad things about my school. 1. We’re poor as heck! 2. We have a crappy American football team, but everyone still goes to it. Girls Soccer(football for the rest of the world) is pretty good, I have no clue about our Softball team. We have a great Girls Rugby team. They got 3rd in our state last year. 3RD! The choir is pretty popular, too. The last term I quit Choir because I was going through a life-changing time for school. I didn’t want to bog down the whole Choir because I was feeling sad. The Arts is a good subject here. Our art teachers are very good at what they do. I live in a city where the LGBTQ+ society runs rampant. Most of my friends are either gay, non-binary, or transgender. I also live in a town full of rich people, pot heads, or wannabe hippies. 

UK Schools: Me!

Well, my secondary school isn’t the richest in the world. It became an Academy quite a couple of years ago, so they no longer get money from the Government, and perhaps they’re not great with money management…? :/

My school is known for being quite a sporty school, they do a lot of exercise promotion and sports promotion, and take part in competitions. You also have a great mix of teachers who care, but it’s more like ‘we’ll only start caring about you when you start GCSE’s’ for some teachers. Before we go on a big holiday off school (longer than a week) we have an Awards Assembly where you get Attainments or Endeavours on a subject, depending if your teacher picked you to have one. You also get awards for attendance and punctuality.

Universities:

US Schools: Caitie!

Getting into colleges is somewhat tough over here. For tests for the state, we have pretty easy state testing that you have to do throughout Elementary school (Grades 1-6) and 11th grade. The Smarter Balance (SBAC) tests were pretty easy for my except for the math because GEOMETRY IS DUMB AND NO ONE NEEDS IT. Other than those tests, we have the SAT/ACT. They’re tests that you have to study for to get the score you hope for to go to that University/college you want to go to. Since I’m graduating from High School NEXT MONTH (i want to die), I have to make these decisions soon. I do not know what I want to do, yet. It’s okay though. Plans don’t always work out. In each County that we live in, there are a couple local community colleges that you can attend to get a two-year degree or start a transfer degree. 

You don’t always have to start going to college immediately. You could have a gap year, just to work and save up money.

UK Schools: Me!

Getting into uni over here is pretty tough. It starts from the roots…your GCSE results. I guess what teachers drilled into our heads is right, they are the most important exams we have to take because they’re the foundation of the rest of our lives really. Once you get good GCSE results (and use them to get into a good sixth form/college) you have to do well in sixth form (16-18-year-olds) and get amazing A-level and AS-level results. Universities look at ALL of that, and you can do stuff on the side like The Duke of Edinburgh awards (google them if you’re confused) to get more of a chance. It’s really stupid, to be honest, it’s like as soon as you reach the last two years of secondary school, you’re thrown into a sudden whirlwind of responsibility. After sixth form, you can have a gap year to chill and do everything you want to do before you have to go back into education. Obviously getting into university is MUCH harder if you’re interested in unis like Oxford and Cambridge. But that’s another story, I’m not gonna go into all that!

Blog Divider

Anddd that’s the end of this collab! A huggeee thank you to Caitie from Madrigals and Sound for doing this collab with me, and I hope you all enjoyed! I’d love to do another collab in two weeks (I have a half term coming up) so if anyone’s interested please let me know! Working with Caitie has reminded me how much I enjoy doing collabs…I needed to do more! 

See you guys in the next post! Which hopefully is a post about my favourite bloggers, I started it a few weeks back, and I still haven’t finished and posted it :/ 

  –   All The Jazz 

| TWITTER |  | BLOGLOVIN’

69 thoughts on “US Schools VS UK Schools? | Collab With Madrigals and Sound!!

    1. Thank you!🙂😂 And yeah it was really interesting to see! American schools are so different to mine, and I kinda prefer them! Probably because of the countless high school movies and shows I’ve watched😂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Awesome post! I didn’t realise how different US and UK schools are from Australian schools! Such a big difference! Keep up the good work x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!😊 Really? I thought Australian schools were quite similar to UK schools? Australia follows the whole year 8, year 9 etc thing like the UK don’t they? Have I been wrong all this time?😭😭😂
      I’m happy you liked the post🙂🙂

      Like

      1. aha maybe im the one whos wrong then lol! I guess that UK and Australian schools are kinda the same but US schools are soooo different! yeah… i think i was wrong now that i think about it 😂❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this is super xool! I heard about terms in the UK, but not really anything else, haha! I’m American, but I go to a public IB charter school, so it’s a little different from other schools. I have semesters (each half of the school year), and quarters (each half of the semester). I have an A/B schedule, which means that on A day, I have these four classes, and on B day, I have my other four classes. That makes classes about 90 min. long whih is TIRING. But I also have early-release on Wednesday, which means THOSE classes are only an hour.

    OKAY I’LL STOP TALKING NOW AND SAY YOU SHOULD DO MORE COLLABS. *nods*

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw thank you! There’s different schools in America that are different than other schools in America?? My brain can’t take this😂 But I can say my secondary school do something similar to the A/B schedule you have! We follow a week one and week two thingy where on week one, certain classes are different or switched around, same with week two. For example on a Friday period 4, on week one I have Drama but on week two I have French! But 90 MINUTE CLASSES?! I WOULD DIE😭 My classes are only an hour long! The used to be 1 hour and 15 minutes, but they changed it to 1 hour and added another period (period 5) to our timetable.
      Hopefully I’ll do more collabs! They’re too awesome😄😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This collab was so good, and I found myself comparing both of your schooling to my own! Like, we’re set into terms and semesters! We have two semesters each year, but they are split up into terms, and we have four terms a year! And we only get two weeks in between each one, except for the end of the year, where we get six weeks off. And we have six periods a day! (Except on Friday where we miss two periods to do a sport, and we can choose whatever sport we want.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you liked it! Schools in Australia sound pretty similar to schools in the US! But I think I’ve heard most Australian schools wear uniform just like schools here in the UK…? I might be wrong😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! We all have to wear uniforms! Except my school is pretty relaxed in the fact that we can wear our PE uniform everyday instead of our formal uniform

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahahah. Don’t worry. I used to go to a school that cared more about uniform than education. Luckily, I moved from that school before it got really bad.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’d like to say it’s an equal balance, but sometimes it’s a bit ridiculous! For example, you have to wear a certain type of pencil skirt, definitely not a pleated skirt and your socks have to be the right shade of black😂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh wow. Damn. We get away with wearing converse and vans. And for socks, we’re meant to have white, but if the wrong teacher sees you with black you’ll probably just have to pick up rubbish around the school.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hahahah. Yeah. Its pretty chilled but people at my school are sooo up themsleves and are really cliquey. Doesnt work well with my situation 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Ugh! Same! After all this drama last week, I’m gonna just ask someone I’ve spoken to a fair few times if I can sit with their group, because I really don’t want to go back 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This was really interesting, I’m actually home-educated so this was quite eye-opening as to how schools work.
    P.S I’ve seen you around in the blogosphere, but I never really checked out your blog. The other day I decided to and it’s awesome! Keep it up, girl. I followed immediately and will be keeping up to date with all your brilliant posts. Btw, you write lovely comments!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This was so interesting to read! I am from the US, but my school is quite different from the school in the post. That is probably ’cause I’m in an IB charter school, which is different from a lot of public schools. We have two semesters, and \our semesters are split in half and are called quarters. I am just going to put this out there, but I am quite an anglophile and I love the UK! Reading about the differences was really cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m happy you liked it! Whoa really? US schools aren’t all the same? Interesting! UK schools are pretty much all the same, but we do have grammar schools which a posher than that standard school in the UK, and you have to do an entrance exam and a achieve a certain score before u can get in! Awww thank you, I’m gonna take you loving the UK as a personal complement😂 We’re pretty cool though, all posh and tea loving!😂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this so much! It’s taught me a lot 🙂 Oooh you’re so lucky about going in later on a Friday! Ahh I wish we had that and my school’s an academy too 🙂 I love learning about other countries’ education systems – is that weird?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know I love it! But it also makes it harder for when I have to get up and get ready because I had that extra hour to lie in!😭 Your school is an academy as well? I’m hoping it’s better with money than mine! We’re on the broke side I’m afraid😔
      No that’s not weird at all!😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Our school pretends it’s got all its shit together with money but it really, really hasn’t I don’t think 😦 We’re okay for now but who knows?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw that’s sad to hear😔 It sucks doesn’t it? I hope your school remains ok and manages to sort things, and hopefully mine gets its act together….nah it probably won’t😂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I just wanted to say that your blog is super cool! All of your posts are really interesting.

    As a writer, I found this one to be particularly interesting just because in the future I might want to set a novel in one of these settings.

    I’m new to blogging, so if you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

