What’s On My Phone? | Summer 2017

Do I dare start a war in the comments section…? Yeah, I do. Samsung OR Apple guys, answer if you dare….*lame evil laugh*

Hey guys! Happy Tuesday. I hope you are all well and happy! Here in the UK? We’re all dying in this sudden heatwave, things went from 0 to 100 real quick over here! School was a nightmare, I was melting away as my Geography teacher went on about tropical storms. We are so not equipt to deal with temperatures over 20 degrees I swear!

Anyway, today’s post is a post I’ve wanted to do for a while, mainly because I love watching these on YouTube! What’s On My Phone videos (and posts hehe) are just great when you want to watch (or read!) something but you have no clue what, there are tonnes of these online so you could be binge watching (or reading lol) to your heart’s content!

Ok, I’m gonna stop sounding as if I’m trying to sell you it or something…let’s get into the post!

Untitled design

A Bit Of Phone Info ( Just in case you’re curious! ) 

I own a Samsung Galaxy A5 2016 (pretty lengthy huh) with 16GB and in white. It part of the A-series by Samsung, aimed to be budget yet great smartphones…and they are! I love it, all those hours of researching to find the best and affordable phone for me was worth it! Its main great features are the fingerprint scanner, the large battery and fast charging, the screen size and display.

Now…What IS On My Phone? ( Because that is what you came for! )

Screenshot_20170527-121125
What you see before you unlock my phone!

I got my screensaver off Zedge, and I love it! Fuels my kitten obsession. Twilight is an app on my phone, it removes the blue light (the one that’s harmful to your eyes) whenever you turn it on, I use it at night when I’m using my phone.

You can slide to the right to use a pattern to unlock my phone or put your fingerprint on the home button to unlock with your fingerprint. 

Screenshot_20170527-121130
My home screen!

After you unlock my phone this is what you see! The weather and time widget is at the top, then the Google search bar. 

The first app, NX West Midlands is a bus app that shows me the times of when buses are going to arrive, all you need to do is put in the road where the bus stop is, save it, and there you go! It’s very useful, we take buses all the time since my mum doesn’t drive. 

The second app in that row is the one and only Youtube! Of course, it would be right at the front, I use it 24/7! A YouTuber I watch RELIGIOUSLY is Gabriella Lindley. I love her as a person, I have a friend who’s basically a younger version of her, in every way. Seriously it’s kinda creepy, they’re so similar! Her vlogs are awesome, plus she has two cats (one’s a new addition!) and they’re the cutest!! I love them, watching vlogs with her and her cat Nellie is probably one of the reasons why I love cats as much as I do!

The third app is the Play Store, the App Store for Android phones basically! Nothing much to say there, apart from that it’s where I got all my apps from! 

And the last apps in that row, in the O2 folder is the My O2 app and the O2 Priority app. O2 is a phone network/provider in the UK, and my phone’s with O2. So the My O2 app is where I check how much data I have when the next bill is due and stuff like that! In the O2 Priority app, I can get vouchers and awards for being with O2! For example, it I go on the app now I can get two burgers for £10 at a restaurant, enter to win a Samsung Galaxy S8+, get 25% off when I spend £25 at Domino’s Online. And there’s much more! I love this app, it’s unbelievably useful. 

Then I have the usual: Phone, Contacts, Messages, Chrome (instead of the usual web browser that comes with the phone because CHROME FOR LIFE) and apps.

Screenshot_20170527-121138
The page I’m on the most!

When you swipe to the left, this is what you see! Usually, right at the top where it’s blank, I’d have a widget that will have a countdown of an event I’m looking forward to, but I currently don’t have an event I’m looking forward to *sniffle sniffle* so there was no point to have that widget there!

Now, starting from the top left corner. In the School/Revision folder, I have Quizlet, THE MOST AMAZING REVISION APP IN EXISTENCE! Almost can’t wait until GCSE’s so I can use it more! Nah, just kidding. That would be a bit too weird lol.

There’s also Flashcards+ that helps me learn things I need to know for piano! It’ll be most useful when the time comes to revise subjects! And Dictionary, I use it for English Literature and Language the most! All these are pretty helpful, and new additions to my phone! Can’t wait to use them more!

Moving across, there’s Rewards, where you occasionally get asked to fill out a survey, and when you do you get some money to spend in the Play Store! You don’t get much for each survey though, I’ve had this app for a couple of months now and I’ve only gained 70p! It’s pretty amazing though, highly recommend!

Next, there’s Gmail, I only have it really for my blog’s email! If I didn’t have that, I would have just stuck with the Mail app that comes with my phone!

After Gmail there’s Dreamdays! Dreamdays a countdown app where I can put down dates I’m excited for or dates that are important, and it’ll countdown until the day, and show me how many days until that day! (I’ve never said the word ‘day’ so much in a paragraph hehe). It also has a widget (that I mentioned briefly earlier) so if there’s one particular day I’m SUPER excited for I can put the widget down! Anyway, long explanation over, Dreamdays is an awesome app, I love it so much!

Moving down to the next row, there’s Instagram! I’m assuming you all know what Instagram is and how it works! I did have an Insta for my blog, but I had to delete it because people from school came across it somehow… 😦 But I have a personal account that I hardly post on because I can’t take selfies to save my life. I’m ugly af guys.

Then there’s Zedge, an app where I get all my screensavers for my phone. It’s pretty useful because all wallpapers are HD, and there’s LOTS to choose from! So whenever I want my phone to have a mini makeover, that’s where I go!

After Zedge, there’s Bloglovin’….pretty self-explanatory! It’s for people that want to read my posts but don’t have a WordPress account, and I use it to follow blogs that I like that don’t use WordPress as a blogging platform! Pretty useful, I don’t pay attention to it as much as I should though. I need to work on that! 

The one and only Spotify! For a long time (since I got this phone in July last year actually!) I’d been using Deezer! I have no clue why I guess I wanted to try something new? Anyway, I got Spotify back two weeks ago because I missed it. Yep, I’m weird. But I’m so glad I got it back! I can listen to my tunes in style. But that free trial of Spotify Unlimited has REALLY made me want it. Perhaps I could convince my mum…?

Ok, now the last row! Starting with Snapchat! I actually love Snapchat, more to look at everyone else’s snaps instead of making my own! I’ve been into streaks lately, I lost one lately which was kinda annoying lol, but I have one that’s still going strong! Basically, I love Snapchat because you get a fun window into other people’s lives…is that weird of me to say? I hope not…*nervous laughter*

After Snapchat there’s Twitter. I like Twitter quite a lot, to interact with many of you lovely bloggers out there and to just tweet about life basically. But Twitter can be an upsetting sometimes when arguments start and when horrible news is spread around. But I still love Twitter and I’ll always continue to use it!

Next, Google Calendar! It’s just a calendar app really, nothing much to report there! I just got it because it’s prettier than the calendar app that comes with my phone!

And lastly, the WordPress folder! In there I have the WordPress app, to reply to comments, read posts, etc. You’re all familiar with the app! And then I have a link to my blog, a way to get to it quickly. Not an app, but I’ll include it anyway!

Screenshot_20170527-121142
And there’s more…

When you swipe down again from the page I just talked about, you see this! First, in the top left, there’s the Puzzle Alarm Clock. I use this to set my alarms from school, to turn off your alarm you can pick ways to turn it off, a sum, a puzzle, remember the pattern and more. There’s also a nice feature that after you turn off the alarm, 5 minutes after it sends a notification that says ‘are you awake? Press this if you are’ or something along those lines. If I don’t press it the alarm goes off again, and this feature has saved me countless times! Not getting rid of this app anytime soon!

Next, there’s Memo, an app that came with the phone. I just use it to make all sorts of notes on my phone…not much to say there!

Below them both there’s a WordPress widget that shows me my views, visitors, likes and comments as the day goes on! I’d just posted this post 20 minutes or so after I took this screenshot, so stats were slowly starting to go up! 

And below that, there’s the Notes widget, where I chose to save a note where I had all my blog milestones! It’s just for me to recognise how far I’d come and everything I’d achieved with my blog, it’s a good little mood booster. 

Screenshot_20170527-121147
The emptiest page!

Now when you swipe right, past the pages we went through, we make it to this page! I used to have a bunch of games on here that I didn’t play, so I deleted them a few months back and kept one, Clash Royale! It’s a pretty fun game, made by the same developers who made Clash of Clans. But I haven’t been playing it lately, it’s kind of a shame. 

Then, near the bottom, I have S Voice. Siri’s younger, less impressive brother. I never really use it!

And finally, I have the Control Panel widget, that tells me how much RAM and Storage I have in my phone. Plus I can give it a quick clean to get rid of unwanted, stray files and everything else that isn’t needed. 

Untitled design

Anddd it’s the end of the post everyone! I hope you enjoyed it! By the way, I didn’t include all the apps on my phone, just the ones on the front pages that I use often! I do have some apps I use but they’re just in the app menu, such as Whatsapp. 

And don’t forget to answer in the comments, Samsung or Apple? Or even another brand? Let me know, let the battle begin in the comments!

Thank you for reading, and see you all in the next post. 

  –   All The Jazz

| TWITTER |  | BLOGLOVIN’|

60 thoughts on “What’s On My Phone? | Summer 2017

    1. Ooo interesting! I agree with the Apple point, plus they’re so hyped up! But I guess the hype works because I still find myself wanting one in the future to try it out😂 So what is your favourite phone brand? Yay you use twilight! So useful for when I can’t be bothered to sleep and spend ages on my phone, gotta protect those eyes😂 Thanks! I love it too. So cute❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m happy you liked the post! You’re an Apple user? I’ve been thinking of getting an iPhone when I can upgrade my phone, to try it out and see if I like it. But if I don’t I’m gonna be stuck with it fo two years until I can get a new one😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I suppose that’s​ a good reason. I just don’t like how it looks. It also doesn’t help that my school is very Apple oriented and I have to figure out how to use their IOS when I am PURELY an Android and PC girl 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m an apple girl all the way. I’ve tried using a Samsung but I think I’ve been using apple for so long that anything else just feels so strange to me! I love this post btw, I watch these videos all the time on YouTube but I’ve never seen a blog post on it! Really great idea ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s pretty much me but with a Samsung! I really would like to try an iPhone in the future though, nobody can resist how awesome and aesthetic they are😂
      Aww thank you so much, I’m so happy you enjoyed the post❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! I chose your blog as a part of Gracie Chicks A Passion For The World:Blogging Project! (Sorry if the links not working my phone is being annoying 😂) It would be amazing if you could get involved too but that is entirely up to you! Have a lovely day! 🙂💗

    Liked by 1 person

  3. APPLE- no question.
    Although don’t come start start poking me with sticks, I won’t be able to defend it at all, just be running away.
    Great apps! I’m definitely checking out some of those some time soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha don’t worry! No poking with sticks here😂 I don’t tend to go crazy on Apple users, mainly because there’s something about having an iPhone or a Mac or Macbook that makes you feel special, because they’re so fricking popular! I’m hoping to get an iPhone the next time I can get a new phone to try them out for the first time. I mean all I’ve ever used is a Samsung phone, I need to find out what I’m missing out on😂😂 Yay I’m glad you’re planning to check out some apps😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, then that’s good, haha.
        My family from the start were Apple users, so I am can’t really speak for Samsung people- but I have to say from using Apple I’ve liked it!!
        Haha, you haven’t been missing out on everything, but just quite a few of things!! 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Cool! I think the only thing that’s kinda stopping me from getting an iPhone is that you can’t customise it as much as you can customise an Android phone! But I still really want an iPhone someday…😭😂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo yay you’re the first non Apple and Samsung user! Haha yeah Android is pretty cool, plus the names for the versions are awesome. What’s it on now, Android Marshmallow…? I’m probably wrong lol, I’m behind on my tech info😭

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The wordpress widget? Well on my phone, on the home page I swipe out until I can edit the home pages and then you’ll get options such was ‘wallpaper’ ‘widgets’ ect. And then you press widgets and you should find the wordpress one! Hopefully that makes sense, I’m dreadful at explaining things!😂 If not, I’ll send you screenshots on DM on twitter so it’ll be more clear🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh. Dont worry. Little me got impacient and figured it all out on my own, even adding spoify and fitbit widgets. Lowkey obssessed. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I literally now have 13 widgets on my phone! I’m full on addicted! Thank you Samsung! And thank you for introducing them to me!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have, like, a bunch of small fitbit ones! So thats why there are so many. Maybe I’ll do a whats on my phone thing too, then you can see what I mean! Hahahah

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Jazz!
    Thank you for the recent follow! 🙂 I followed back! Your blog seems very interesting and humourous! 😉 Nice to ‘virtually’ meet you. Congradulations for getting over 500 followers, that is incredible since you started blogging last October 2016! You’ll reach 1000 followers by the end of this year I bet!
    All the best!
    – Doni 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! 🙂 I’m an Apple girl all the way… I could definitely see myself becoming an Android person because the programmer in me would love to be able to mess with stuff without a jailbreak, but because I’m blind and have to have a good screen reader, it isn’t an option. Android has a screen reader, but Apple is still lightyears ahead of them as far as system-wide access.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s pretty true, I’ve never thought about it that way! I do hope Android start to improve with their screen reader, to be honest it should have been good already! Upsetting that it isn’t!

      Like

Leave a Reply

